savory

Bacon Cheese Scallions Scones

Bacon Scones 2

After eating and trying out so many cakes, I got sort of annoyed by all the sweet food. I know, there are people who believe that there is no such thing as too much sugar, but for me there is. Crazy, I know! Since I still wanted to bake, I started looking for savory baking recipes and found a marvellous recipe for Bacon-Cheddar-Herb Scones on dailycandy.com. Combining all my favorite things: bacon, cheese, spring onions and pastry products, these scones are definitely the best! What I love about these scones apart from their intense taste is the easiness to prepare. To me they are a perfect bring along if you are invited for a brunch buffet to a friends’. And I love brunch! But who doesn’t?

Here is how to bake them:


I adapted parts of the recipe, from american to european measures, and also some parts with regard to taste. The original recipe is with cheddar, which is not my favorite kind of cheese, which is why I took Gouda instead. Also I reduced the amount of bacon, such that it doesn’t overshadow the taste of the cheese too much, nothing game changing 😉

Ingredients (for 16 pieces):

60 g bacon bits
350 g wheat flour
4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
170 g cold butter
2 eggs
110 g heavy cream
110 g aromatic cheese, crumbled
2 large scallions, chopped

Crisp bacon over medium heat. Drain, chop and place in the refrigerator. Preheat the oven to 190°C. Sift flour, baking powder & salt in a large mixing bowl. Cut butter into small edges and add to the flour. Mix until the ingredients resemble a cornmeal  texture. Add eggs, cream, and cheddar and mix by hand until it just combines. Fold in scallions and bacon.

Transfer dough to a well-floured board & form two 15cm rounds. Cut each into 8 wedges. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Transfer the wedges to the sheet. Brush them with a little bit of cream & bake 20-25 minutes until the scones are golden brown.

Tip: Allow to cool & firm about 10 minutes before removing from sheet (best if served the same day). It is also a good idea to eat them with sour cream or butter on top, in case they are too dry. Quickly prepared and perfect for a brunch buffet!

What do you think?

