savory

Colorful Bulgur-Curry

bunter bulgursalat

A week of long busy days at university are the worst. Eatingwise, of course 😉 You have to plan ahead starting monday, what you want to eat for the rest of the week. Or you end up eating the same boring sandwiches every day or buying the overly expensive, bland tasting cantine food. After having one of those sandwich-weeks, I decided to end this lazy habit and look for some recipes to enjoy my own home cooked lunch. The key factor is of course, it has to be prepared quickly, because I have to leave early in the morning and I want everything to be still fresh when I eat it. By coincidence I came up with this bulgur curry, which I like a lot now. It is quickly done, tastes a little exotic and brings some beautiful colors in a stressful, indoor university day.

Here is how it’s done:

Ingredients for 1 Person:

150 g bulgur
350 ml vegetable broth
1 stalk leek
1/2 red paprika
1/2 small onion
4 medium-sized tomatoes

Boil the bulgur in the broth on medium heat until it has sopped up all the liquids. In the mean time clean and chop all the vegetables and  fry them in a pan with a little bit of olive oil. If you have the time, fry each vegetable separately that way they will keep their own taste the most. Once the bulgur is done, spice it with salt, pepper and curry powder. Mix the vegetables under the bulgur.

Tips: I like that dish, because I think it is enjoyable both warm and cold. So when I have a busy day at university, I can quickly prepare my lunch before I have to leave the house in the morning. Meatlovers might want to add some fried chicken to get their daily proteines 😉 And of course you can also put different vegetables in it!

What do you think?

