sweet

Almond Cookies

Mandelplätzchen 0

The stage is set for these lovely almond cookies to play the Danish ouverture for this week of christmas cookies 🙂
Perfectly crispy but not too dry, these cookies are easy to make and their taste is all about the almonds!

Ingredients:

200 g room-tempered butter
200 g sugar
1 tbsp syrup
75 g chopped almonds
1 tsp natron i.e. baking soda
400 g flour (maybe a little less)

Mix the dry ingredients together. Cut the butter into small flocks and add the butter flocks and the sirup to the dry ingredients. Knead thorougly until it turns into a firm dough. Let the dough rest in the fridge for one hours. Preheat the oven to 200°C. Then knead the dough again and roll into two rolls with 3 cm diameter. Cut with a sharp knife into even slices of about 5 mm. Place on a baking sheet that is covered with baking parchment and bake for 7-8 minutes until they are golden brown.

4 thoughts on “Almond Cookies

  1. I’m a total sucker for almond cookies. I could probably eat a whole batch by myself! I want to make these! But I do have a couple questions for you. By “sirup” do you mean maple syrup, perhaps? Or rice syrup? Also, what is natron? I’m guessing salt, but seems like a lot, so suspect I’m wrong. Oops, I have a third question. You say to place the two rolls on a baking sheet and bake. The cookies in the photo appear to have been cut before baking. Should we slice the dough before baking or after?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Woow very good questions indeed! And they show that apparently I didn’t proofread the post 😦
      Yes, for the syrup you can take maple syrup, or sugar beet syrup. I have never tried rice syrup before, but if it is not too liquid I am sure it works as well!
      Natron is baking soda. I simply assumed that it was the same word in English as it is in German and Danish, sorry for that!
      And number 3: again, seems like I was a bit sloppy formulating the recipe. Of course they need to be cut before baking 😉

      Thanks a lot for your great feedback! I hope you will let me know, how the cookies turned out 😉

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

