savory

Potato Ginger Soup with Parsley Oil

potato ginger soup

Dramatic changes are about to happen: I have to leave the kitchen!!! I know, it will be really tough for me, but thankfully it will be just for two weeks. I am already dreading severe withdrawal symptoms, but my family and all the marvellous Christmas food will hopefully keep me distracted. So here is my last post of the year: a soup that tastes so good, that you don’t even dare offering it to christmas guests – you’ll want to eat it all by yourself 😉

I tried and modified this recipe from essen-und-trinken.de, because I wanted to try it for a christmas menu. The original recipe is with white wine, and basil instead of parsly. But since I had neither of these ingredients at home, I was forced to improvise – and I am really happy with the result! In fact (even though in general I prefer basil to parsley) I think the parsley matches the sweetness of the milk and the sharpness of the ginger better than basil could ever do 🙂

Before letting you read the last recipe, I want to wish all of you a lovely week of holidays with your family and friends. Thank you for joining me on my culinary journey!
Since all of us will have to loose some pounds, I will try to post some low calory posts in the beginning of the new year 😉 So all that’s left to say is Merry Christmas, Glade Jul and Frohe Weihnachten, and see you again next year!

Ingredients (serves 4):

for the potato soup:           for the parsley oil:
 100 g onions, chopped  a handful of parsley
 500 g floury potatoes  1/2 tsp. lemon zest
 30 g butter  10 tbsp grape seed oil
 550 ml vegetable broth  salt
 400 ml milk
 20 g ginger
 200 ml whipping cream
2 tbsp lemon juice
 salt, pepper

For the soup:

Chop the onions and the potatoes. Melt the butter in a large pot and braise the onions until translucent. Add the potatoes and some of the broth, let it boil down to 1/3. Transfer the rest of the broth, the milk and 200 ml of water to the potatoes. Season with salt, pepper and lemon juice and let it boil for about 20 minutes. Chop the ginger into fine pieces. In the meantime prepare the parsley oil. After the 20 minutes have passed, add ginger and cream to the soup and boil again for about 5 minutes. Blenderize until very fine and serve in bowls. Before serving sprinkle each soup portion with 1-2 tbsp of the parsley oil.

For the oil:

Chop the parsley, and mix with lemon zest, oil and a pinch of salt. Blenderize until very fine.

What do you think?

