savory

Vegetable Schmarrn with Garlic Dip

IMG_20151206_004255

It is 2016 and I am back in my kitchen – with a recipe that helps you with your new years resolution of eating more healthy after all the tasty but sinful christmas food 😉 I enjoyed the stay with my family very much, and I received lots of christmas gifts for my kitchen and tried out new recipes… So the new year holds new sweet and savory culinary challenges for me, and I hope you will join me on the ride 🙂 I wish all of you a successful, happy, healthy and tasty year 2016 – I will try to contribute to the last part by offering some of my favorite recipes!

I really like these vegetable Schmarrn, because they are quick to prepare and something completely different from what I normally eat – and also from how Schmarrn are normally eaten. The dish, which comes from Southern Germany and Austria, is normally a sweet dish, eaten with roasted raisins and custard sauce. For this savory interpretation, the raisins are replaced by chopped vegetables and the custard sauce by a garlic dip. I created the dip myself and I have to say, that I was very pleased that I came up with the idea of adding lemon juice. This lifts the strong garlic taste and just makes you (or at least me 😉 ) crave for more.

Ingredients for the Schmarrn: Ingredients for the Dip:
1 small onion 3 tbsp creme fraîche
 2 carrots  1 tsp lemon juice
 1/2 squash  1 small clove of garlic, finely chopped
  3 eggs (yolk, and egg white separately)  1 tbsp cream
 150 g flour  2 tsp chopped parsley
 200 ml milk salt
 50 g feta
 1 tbsp chopped parsley

For the Schmarrn:

Finely chop the onion and grate carrots and squash. Fry the onions in some olive oil in a pan. Later add the vegetables, season them with salt and pepper and steam the whole for ca 5 minutes. Transfer to a colander and drain it well.

In the meantime mix egg yolks with milk and feta. Stir under the flour until there are no more crumbs. Whisk the egg whites until stiff and together with the vegetables carefully fold under the batter.

Heat some oil in a frying pan. Pour in some of the vegetable dough until 1.5-2 cm thick, and fry with medium heat until golden brown. Use the spatula to cut into 4 pieces and fry the Schmarrn from the other side as well. Cut into bite size pieces and serve together with the garlic dip.

For the dip:

Mix all the ingredients and season with salt, let rest in the fridge until serving.

Tip: You may of course vary on the vegetables by season – I am very curious to hear about your modern interpretations of this traditional dish 😉

One thought on “Vegetable Schmarrn with Garlic Dip

What do you think?

