savory

Potato Parmesan Piles

IMG_20160619_204438

Sorry, that I didn’t find the time to post a sweet recipe on the weekend, I was traveling to Berlin. But now I am back with an all new recipe! And don’t worry, I have a post about mini rhubarb pies in the making for next saturday 😉 Today’s recipe, however, finally uses one of the vegetables I like most: potatoes. Combined with my favorite herb, chives, and my favorite cheese, parmesan. What could possibly go wrong?! Nothing!

I didn’t use to buy potatoes that often, because they would always start to rot before I could eat them all. But luckily in Denmark, you can buy convenient 1 kg bags, perfect for one meal for 2-3 people! The parmesan works perfectly to hold the piles together, and added with the chives and freshly ground salt and pepper, these potato piles work perfectly as a side dish for a barbecue or even as a simple main course. If served as a main course, I recommend to have some dip aside, maybe ketchup or a garlic creme fraiche dip, as I had here 🙂

Ingredients (serves 1):
500 g young potatoes
75 g parmesan (maybe a bit more)
1 bunch of chives
Salt, pepper

Preheat the oven to 180°C. Wash and clean the potatoes thoroughly. Cut them into thin slices of about 1-2 mm. If you want you can peel them, however the peel adds a special taste to the dish in my eyes 😉 Chop chives finely, grate the parmesan and mix both together. Grease a cupcake tin. Staple the potato slices in one cupcake form at a time, sprinkling approximately every third slice with the cheese chives mixture. (In my case, the potatoes were enough for 8 piles, but that might depend on the size of the vegetables.) Season with freshly ground salt and pepper. Roast in the oven for 20-25 minutes. Let the piles cool down for a second and then carefully remove them from the tin.

One thought on “Potato Parmesan Piles

What do you think?

