savory

Rhubarb Spinach Pasta

IMG_20160619_204253

” I’m coming home, it’s a beautiful day, it’s a beautiful morning…. 🎶” Time for summer vacation with the family! I don’t know what hit me, but I decided to go by train this time – 10 hours! This is going to be a long day… Anyway, this also means that I might not post new recipes that frequently over the next weeks, but I guess most of you are on their holidays as well 🙂

I found this recipe on eatsmarter.de, when I was looking for more creative rhubarb recipes, other than classic rhubarb pie. I was not disappointed, although I must admit, I changed the recipe a little bit – the original recipe suggested to leave a bit of the pasta water aside and pour over the vegetables when frying them. However, this left the vegetables too soft to my taste, so I changed the recipe here 😉

Ingredients (serves 4):

500 g whole meal pasta
500 g rhubarb
2 shallotts
100 g fresh spinach
2 tbsp rape oil
80 g freshly grained parmesan
1 tbsp hashed roasted almonds
salt, pepper

Bring water to the boil in a pot to cook the pasta. Wash and clean shallots and rhubarb and cut into small pieces. Braise both shallots and rhubarb lightly in a pan with a little bit of oil. When the pasta water is boiling, add the pasta and some salt and cook them al dente. Wash the spinach, then start roasting the almonds in a small sauce pan. When the pasta are al dente, pour off the water and add them to the rhubarb, frying them lightly as well. At last add the spinach and season everything with freshly ground salt and pepper. Serve with parmesan and roasted almonds.

Tip: If you like your food to be a little bit sour, add some fresh lemon juice before serving.

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb Spinach Pasta

What do you think?

