sweet

Simple Plum Pastries

plum-flowers

You have guests coming over this weekend, and you want to serve them something homebaked, but don’t really have the time to bake a whole cake? I might just have the perfect recipe for you! The only things you need are puff pastry, plums and access to an oven 😉

I guess this is one of the simplest recipes I ever posted. Admittedly, I made life easy for myself by buying puff pastry instead of making it myself. But I also cheated myself, because in my opinion homemade puff pastry is sooo much better than the bought one! If you have the time and want to do something similar, using homemade puff pastry, I would like to refer you here. You can easily upscale this recipe by adding some custard before baking or icing to decorate it, but the simple version alreaday tasted quite nice!

Ingredients (for 2):

2 10 x 10 cm squares of ready bought puff pastry
4-5 plums, sliced thinly
Some powder sugar, lime juice and cinnamon for decoration

Preheat the oven to 160°C. Wash the plums and cut them into thin slices of about 2-3 mm. I actually cut slices on both sides of the stone, and then ate the rest I couldn’t slice 😉 Place the slices in the middle of each puff pastry squares, forming a flower. Sprinkle with cinnamon then fold the corners into the middle such that the pastry looks like an octagon. Place the pastries on a baking sheet, which is spread with baking powder and bake for about 15 minutes until golden brown. Sprinkle them with lemon juice and once they cooled down with powder sugar.

4 thoughts on “Simple Plum Pastries

What do you think?

