savory

Spinach Salad with Caramelized Mushrooms and Orange Filets

spinach-salad-with-orange-filets

I feel like I am running out of things to write about here… I returned from my holidays at home a couple of days ago and directly started working again. So nothing new from that side. But I can tell you, that I want to try baking bread in the future! I had my first try yesterday (admittedly, using a ready-to-use mixture) and all went well. Now I only need to figure out the differences between the many kinds of flours you can get here in Denmark and the ones that are used in the German and English recipes I found so far… šŸ˜‰

I cannot tell you how much I appreciate getting some fresh vitamins for lunch, when I am sitting at the library all day while it is getting darker and darker outside. Ok granted, this salad may not be the simplest salad in the world, because it has so many elements which need to be prepared. But believe me the taste is worth it! Maybe you will not prepare it for yourself sitting at home, eating in front of the tv, but when you have guest coming over this is for sure a way to impress. The fresh juiciness of the orange, balanced with the sweetness of the caramelized mushrooms – for me quite an unusual combination. But this is because I really love sharp salads with sour vinegar… šŸ˜‰ Anyway you should try it out and tell me what you think!

Ingredients (serves 1):

100 g spinach
4-5 small mushrooms
1/4 onion
6 cherry tomatoes
1 orange
1 tsp balsamic vinegar sirup
1 tsp hot mustard
1 tsp coarsely chopped almonds

Wash all the vegetables. Chop onions into fine cubes, and cut the mushrooms into slices of about 2-3 mm. Take about 1 tsp of the onions aside, then transfer the rest together with the mushrooms to a sauce pan. Add the balsamic sirup and heat up until the sirup caramelizes. Put the washed spinach in a salad bowl. Take the mushrooms off the heat when they are ready and add them to the spinach. Melt some butter in the sauce pan and cut the cherry tomatoes in half. Fry the tomatoes in the butter until they take on a darker color. Add to the salad bowl as well. Remove the peel of the orange and cut about 3/4 of it into filets, removing them carefully from their membrane. After adding the filets to the salad bowl, press the juice of the remaining orange into a separate glass to prepare the dressing. Mix under a large teaspoon of hot mustard and season with freshly ground salt and pepper. Pour the dressing over the salad and sprinkle with the chopped onions. Serve with a slice of bread.

Tip: If you want to have a more nutritious dish instead of a simple starter, you can also add steamed buckwheat seeds to the salad. Or if you think this sounds way too sweet for a proper salad, you could also use blood orange/ grapefruit instead of oranges and add some fresh chili to it šŸ™‚

What do you think?

