savory

Leeks Noodles with Gnocchi and Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

Can you believe that it is already one year, I am writing this blog? I surely could not believe it, when I read the wordpress notification yesterday. I still feel like I need to learn so many things about the blogging world, and about cooking and baking for that matter! Anyway, this is also why I still love writing this blog, because it keeps me “out there” and makes me look up things and investigate into greater detail, why recipes did or did not work, than I otherwise would do – and I love learning new things 🙂 The great support from you readers, whether I know you personally or just through this webpage, is of course always a big motivation as well!

Today’s recipe is not really a celebration dish, since I was so surprised by the anniversary. It is neither a typical fraukesfoodeliciousfritid recipe, as you really need many different pots and multi-task while cooking in order for all the elements to be ready at the same time. Yet, I think the taste is absolutely worth it! I love the combination of hazelnuts and leeks, balanced with the sweetness of the roasted cherry tomatoes – sheer heaven!

Ingredients (serves 2):

2 tbsp hazelnuts
1 stalk of leeks
1 tsp butter
1 tsp olive oil
250 g of gnocchi
100 g cherry tomatoes
2 tsp semi-dried tomatoes
100 ml cream
salt, pepper, dried thyme

Chop the hazelnuts coarsely and roast them in a sauce pan until they are golden brown. Remove the outer peel of the leek and cut the stalk in half, then again in half this time lengthwise. Use a sharp knife to cut the leeks into fine stripes again lengthwise, so they resemble spaghetti. Wash the leeks noodles in a sieve, wash the cherry tomatoes as well. Cut the cherry tomatoes in halves. Bring water to the boil in a pot, season with 1 tsp of salt and blanch the leeks in the salt water. While the water is heating up, melt the butter together with the olive oil in a frying pan and start frying the gnocchi on medium heat. When they start to turn golden, add the cherry tomatoes to the pan and fry them with the section facing downwards. Start frying the semi-dried tomatoes in a saucepan, add the cream after 2 minutes. When the sauce starts boiling, take it off the heat and season with salt, pepper and dried thyme. Drain the leeks and take the gnocchi off the heat as well. Serve everything together and sprinkle with the roasted hazelnuts.

Tip: The first time, I did the recipe I also added some feta cubes, which go very well with the sweetness of the cherry tomatoes, alternatively you can also add some freshly ground Parmesan.

What do you think?

