sweet

Lemon Curd filled Cupcakes

Considering my love for lemons, it has been surprisingly late in my life when I tasted lemon curd for the first time. It was about two years ago maybe, when I was traveling and the host had this (to me at the time weird) kind of yellow jelly in the cupboard. Loving lemons, I needed to try it though, and gosh I loved it and I still do! And this recipe for the lemon curd is so easy – I just needed to make more than necessary for the cupcakes – just to have something left for later 🙂

Now first of all, I must say that I am really not the biggest cupcake fan. I think they are kind of boring, they never look really exciting (I am also not really happy about how these look in the pictures), and they often taste kind of boring and way too sweet. Well, these muffins here got at least the taste part right 😉 I really love how the lemon curd filling adds this kind of sourness to the otherwise quite rich dough. I found the recipe online, and everything worked fine. I had to take two tries on the curd, because the egg got basically cooked when I added it, but apart from that it worked well!  In my opinion, you could still cut a bit on sugar and butter, but then again – I have really not a sweet tooth. So just try it yourself, and tell me what you think!

For the lemon curd: For the batter:
3.5 tbsp sugar 170 g butter, softened
juice from 1/2 lemon 200 g sugar
4.5 tsp butter (22g) 2 eggs
1 egg, lightly beaten 1 tsp vanilla sugar
 grated lemon zest from 1/2 lemon (1 tsp) grated lemon zest from 1/2 lemon (1 tsp)
185 g wheat flour
 For the frosting: 1/2 tsp baking powder
 15 g butter, softened 1/2 tsp baking soda
 1/2 tsp vanilla sugar 1 pinch of salt
 200 g powder sugar 160 ml  buttermilk
 2-4 tbsp milk

 For the lemon curd:
Cook and stir sugar, lemon juice and butter in a sauce pan until smooth on medium heat. Turn off the heat. Stir a bit of the warm mixture teaspoonwise into the egg. Return everything to the pan. Slowly heat up the mixture again, stirring constantly. It is important that you don’t add the egg immediately to the warm mixture because otherwise it will separate from the butter-sugar mixture! Bring carefully to the boil, and cook until the mixture starts to thicken, stirring constantly. Stir in lemon peel and let cool down.

For the batter:
Preheat the oven to 180°C. Take a large mixing bowl and mix butter and sugar together until fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, always beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla sugar and lemon peel. Combine flour, baking powder and soda and salt. Add to the butter-sugar mixture, alternating with the buttermilk until you get a smooth batter. Fill paper-lined cupcake cups about 3/4 full. Bake at 180°C fan for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Let the cupcakes cool down.

Bringing it all together:
Use a piping bag with a small round pastry tip or a baking injection to fill the cupcakes with the curd. For that fill either the injection or the bag with the curd, inject it to the cupcake and fill until the surface starts to crack. Stir all the ingredients for the frosting together, carefully adding just enough milk to get a spreading texture. Spread all the cupcakes with the frosting and decorate with lemon zest and lemon slices.

What do you think?

