savory

Red Cabbage Salad

First of all, sorry that I am kind of off schedule… I attended a super interesting research workshop last weekend and did not really get around to write down the recipes as I planned. In addition to that, the dark and short days have begun again, so I am starting to schedule my days around my cooking plans, such that I can get at least some nice pictures with daylight 😉 This vegan cabbage salad for example looked so colorful and bright, you couldn’t believe it! Of course it tasted nice as well, I guess otherwise I would not post it here 🙂 I liked especially the combination of the sweet sour clementines with the bitterness of the cabbage and the crunchy pumpkin seeds… Just delicious!

I got the inspiration for this recipe from our university canteen – believe it or not! They are pretty creative with salads, and often use kale or cabbage as a base which I usually would not come up with. Since I had never tried to prepare red cabbage myself before and because I just love the color of red cabbage, I needed to experiment and try this out at home! The thing that was most surprising to me was how filling this salad actually is. I prepared the measurements exactly as they are written in the recipe and I couldn’t even eat half of it! So I think it should be enough for two, at least if you plan to eat it as a starter or side dish.

Ingredients (serves 2):

1/2 red cabbage
1 handful arugula
1 clementine
1 tbsp pumpkin seeds
1 tsp chives, chopped
1 tsp honey
1 tsp mustard
Salt, pepper, walnut oil

Put the cabbage on a cutting board with the cutting edge facing downwards. Cut it in half “lengthwise”, i.e. in direction of growth, then orthogonally into thin slices (3-5 mm). Wash the cabbage and the arugula in a colander. Transfer to a salad bowl. Chop the chives and add them to the bowl as well, just like honey, mustard and pumpkin seeds. Peel the clementine carefully and put 3/4 of the bits into the salad bowl, press the juice out of the rest directly into the salad bowl. Season the salad with salt and pepper and add some walnut oil. Mix well together and serve with fresh bread.

What do you think?

