savory

Pasta with Winter Vegetables

_dsc0025

Time to celebrate – this is my 100th post! After the anniversary last week, this number just shows again how huge this journey and experience turned out to be… When I started one year ago, I would have never imagined getting to 100 posts and almost 400 followers by basically doing what I always loved – cooking and baking 🙂 A huge part of this success are obviously my fellow food bloggers, who keep coming back to reading the recipes and following what I am up to, but also my friends who have supported me with their kind feedback and spreading the word about this blog to their friends and families as well. At this point I guess it is time for a huge THANK YOU! I am still happy like a small child whenever I hear from someone who tried one of my recipes and gives me feedback  – I feel like “whoa, they actually think that my recipes are worth doing…!” and I won’t get used to that, I guess.

Today’s recipe is a quite simple dish, as the one during weekdays usually are. I still had some cabbage left from the cabbage salad I made the other day, so I had to come up with a creative use for it. Since I don’t eat pasta too often, and it has been quite some time since I last posted a pasta recipe, I thought the time was come for another one. The result after scouring my fridge for other vegetables was this combination of the sweetness of carrots joined with the bitterness of arugula and the sourness of lemon-infused cabbage, and in my eyes (or better mouth 😉 ) it tasted really great! Especially adding the lemon juice, Parmesan and chives in the end had a big impact, and gave this otherwise simple dish the special something.

Ingredients (serves 2):

200 g wholemeal pasta
1/2 small onion
1/2 clove of garlic
1/4 red cabbage
1 large carrot
1 handful arugula
1 tbsp chives
1 tbsp lemon juice
freshly grated Parmesan
salt, pepper

Cut the cabbage into thin stripes and wash it. Peel the carrot, remove the ends and cut it into thin slices. Wash the arugula and chop the onion and the chives. Bring water to the boil in a small pot and cook the pasta al dente. In the meantime, heat up a bit of olive oil and some butter in a frying pan. Add the onion bits and braise them lightly until translucent. Add the carrot slices as well as the stripes of cabbage and roast everything on low heat until softened. Add the garlic and roast on higher heat for another 2 minutes. Season the cabbage with lemon juice, salt and pepper. Serve the pasta together with the cabbage and carrots, decorate with arugula and sprinkle with chives and Parmesan.

Tip: Add a bit of crunch to this dish by serving it with some freshly roasted sunflower seeds or walnuts.

What do you think?

