savory

Hazelnut Rye Bread

I baked this bread the other day to give my new bread tin a try. Since I am young, my mum has been baking this one special bread I really love, which features butter milk and honey, but also many different kinds of flours and wholemeals So I started looking for a recipe online that would feature buttermilk, but would at the same time be a bit easier to make. I was lucky and I found this recipe, which also features hazelnuts (!), on a Danish website. What I liked most was the moisture the baked bread still head, which probably comes from the buttermilk. Since I love the taste of hazelnuts, the taste was just perfect in my eyes 🙂

Ingredients:

50g yeast
400 ml buttermilk
1½ tsp salt
50 g hazelnuts
1 tbsp honey
400 g rye flour
100 g wheat flour
Milk to brush

Mix yeast and buttermilk together in a small bowl and add salt, hazelnuts and honey. Transfer all the flour to a large bowl and add the liquid mixture bit by bit, always kneading in between. Knead the dough thoroughly for at least 5 minutes. Cover the bowl with a towel and let the dough prove at a warm place for about 2 hours. Sprinkle the countertop with wheat flour and transfer the dough there. Knead again throughly. Grease a bread tin (at least 1.5l) and transfer the dough to the tin. Prick the surface with a fork and let it prove for another 30 minutes. Start to preheat the oven to 200°C along the way. Brush the surface with a bit of milk, then bake for 50 minutes at 200°C.

Tip: To give this bread a twist, add some bread seasoning or change the kind of nuts you put in there.

What do you think?

