savory

Fried Aubergine with a Mixed Seed Crust and Beluga Lentils

Greetings from beautiful​ Belgium everybody! I am spending the week here on an international university orchestra festival – how cool is that idea? Also, I am really looking forward to going home over Easter and trying out maaaany new recipes with fresh and regional spring ingredients… (Spoiler alert, my sister told me that they have already enjoyed the first rhubarb of the year, so there is no uncertainty about what kind of a dessert will be served on Easter 😉 )

This dish here, I prepared last weekend and it’s actually an idea I have been carrying around for some time now – aubergine slices, which are fried in a seed crust. And oh my, that was delicious! In my eyes some garlicky​ taste was still missing, but that’s also because I think that aubergine and garlic just belong together like salt and pepper. I also tried to make beluga lentils as a side dish for the first time and I really liked their nutty taste. Next time, I will put them directly in the salad though, or add a kind of sauce to them, to make them less dry, we’ll see.

Ingredients (serves 1):

1/4-1/2 egg plant
1 egg for brushing
Mixed seeds for the crust
60 g beluga lentils
1/2 small onion
5-6 cherry tomatoes
1/4 bell pepper
Some leaves of lettuce
1 handful arugula
Salt, pepper
Balsamic​ vinegar, olive oil
Cook the lentils in salt water according to the instructions on the package. Cut the aubergine into thick slices of about 1 cm (3-4 slices were enough for a lunch for me). Salt them heavily and put aside to rest. Wash and cut the vegetables for the salad as well as the lettuce and the arugula. Transfer to a bowl and season with a balsamic vinegar and oil dressing. Roughly whisk the egg with a fork, then brush the aubergines with it. Sprinkle them with the mixed seeds. Do so from both sides. Heat up a lot of oil in a pan and fry the aubergine slices until the seeds are roasted. Serve everything together with a bit of bread and butter.

8 thoughts on “Fried Aubergine with a Mixed Seed Crust and Beluga Lentils

  1. Good combination! It just happened that last night we had a lentil eggplant bake. I also add peppers and top it with seasoned chopped walnuts. Lentils make for a very satisfying meal, don’t they?
    Writing this comment made me realize I have posted this recipe on my French blog, but not on my English one, oops…

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Sounds good! First enjoying the sun outside while working in the garden and then reliving the deliciousness of your lentil recipe while translating 😉

        Like

What do you think?

