sweet

Hazelnut and Poppy Seed Pastry

Weekend is finally there! And what a weekend – it is finally getting warmer here in Copenhagen, so you can finally enjoy a stroll over one of the many flea markets or a tour to the beach while wearing shorts! It’s almost unbelievable! On such a occasion you surely would not want to miss  on a small, delicious snack, like these hazelnut popp seed pastries πŸ˜‰

Coincidentally, I found those lovely blue plates in the picture on a flea market last weekend. Perfect timing, since I had planned to bake these swirls anyway. So the pictures and the buns turned out nicely, with a very fluffy texture of the dough and just the right amount of bittersweet filling πŸ™‚ However, I think it is time for a warning here. It took me quite some time to achieve this fabulous-looking outcome, because you need to decorate one pastry at a time. But don’t worry! You can of course simply make rolls, for this you need to divide the dough in half, roll each half to a large rectangle and spread them with the fillings. Roll them up along the shorter edge and cut into slices. Transfer the snails to a baking tray and bake them for 12-15 minutes. Easypeasy πŸ˜‰

Ingredients (yields 16):

For the dough: For the fillings: 
500 g flour 150 g hazelnuts
60 g sugar 100 g ground poppy seeds
1 tsp vanilla sugar 65 ml milk each
250 ml milk 25 g butter each
50 g fresh yeast (1 cube) 2 tbsp sugar each
60 g butter
1 egg
1 pinch of salt 1 egg for brushing


For the dough:
Mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl and add the egg. Melt the butter in a sauce pan, take it off the heat and add the milk. Dissolve the yeast in the milk-butter-mixture and add it to the dry ingredients. Thoroughly knead the dough for about 5 minutes until you can feel that it starts rising. Let prove for an hour. In the mean time you can prepare the fillings.

For the fillings:
Grind the hazelnuts finely using a blender. Transfer to a sauce pan and add milk, butter, and sugar. Heat until the butter is resolved and you have a smooth mixture which you can easily spread. If necessary, add a bit of milk. Transfer to a bowl to cool down. 

Finely grind the poppy seeds in a (old) coffee grinder. Transfer to a sauce pan and add again milk, sugar and butter. Heat until the butter is melted and you have a smooth texture. 

Assembling the rolls:
Divide the dough into 16 pieces of equal size. Take one of the bits and roll it out to a 12×20 cm rectangle. Spread a bit of one of the fillings on top, then roll it up tightly along the short side, such that you have a 20 cm long roll. Cut the roll lenghtwise in half and twitch the ends together. With the striped cutting edge more or less always facing outwards, twist the two straps around each other to a flower, like the one in the picture and tuck under the endings. (You will basically take turns in putting one strap over the other and it will more ore less automatically form a circle).  

Place on a baking tray with baking parchment and continue with the rest of the pastries. If you want to make the buns more fancy, you can twist two straps with different fillings around each other πŸ™‚ Preheat the oven to 180Β°C. Place at max 6 pastries on a tray at once, brush them with egg wash and bake for about 12-15 minutes until they are golden brown. While one tray is baking, you can continue to assemble the remaining buns.

14 thoughts on “Hazelnut and Poppy Seed Pastry

  1. OMG πŸ™‚ So watermouthing. And please, share these plates πŸ™‚ When I started my blog, I never thought that plates and props could be challange …:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hihi, thanks! Yep, I really know your feeling. I don’t have a big variety of dishes at home, and to be honest I also don’t think it is necessary to own so many different plates…. The compromise I am working with right now, is that I only buy a fancy plate when I see a very cheap one on a flea market or in antique shops πŸ™‚ and once you have a variety of 3 or 4 different plates of different sizes, I think it’s totally sufficient. But maybe that’s because I am thinking about the next time I need to move and I am just too lazy carrying all that stuff πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. They look absolutely delicious!
    I have both plenty of hazelnuts and poppy seeds in my pantry. My only problem is that I don’t have a poppy seed grinder. I’ve been meaning to get one. That’s why my poppy seeds are still sitting in my pantry.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great! And thanks for taking the time to comment πŸ™‚ I had problems grinding the poppy seeds myself, but now I am just using an old electric coffee grinder, which is easy to clean and does the job very well. Maybe you can use that instead?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was thinking about buying a cheap coffee grinder for the poppy seeds. Oddly, the “official” old fashioned grinders are very expensive. I have a coffee grinder for my coffee beans, but I don’t think I’d use it for the poppy seeds. It’s not the right type.

        I look forward to making all kinds of pastries with poppy seeds. I love poppy seeds. My husband is Czech and they eat poppy seeds in all kinds of things. I’ll definitely keep your recipe in the back of my head for when I get another grinder.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I can imagine that they are expensive. I was lucky enough to be able to use one of my grandmother πŸ˜‰ Maybe you can get a hand on a cheaper old one in an antique store? Anyway, good luck with your search and enjoy the many delicious poppy seed recipes out there πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

